Home | Menu | Sign Up | Donate

Who We Are

Meet the people who make Beyond Differences work. Our Board, National Advisory Board, staff, consultants, supporters, friends, volunteers, and partners are committed to our mission.

Board Members | National Advisory Board Members | Portland Advisory Board Members | Staff & Consultants
Financial Friends | Partner Schools

Our Board & National Advisory Board

Board Members

National Advisory Board Members

Joyce Aboussie (St. Louis)
Julie Abrams (Marin County)
Don Attore (Los Angeles)
Amy Baer (Marin)
Erin and Rob Becker (Marin County)
Steve Bileca (New York)
Dr. Ruth Mathis Bissell (San Francisco)
Julie Brandt (San Francisco)
Elizabeth Brown (Sonoma County)
Marin County Superintendent Public Schools Mary Jane Burke
Ruth M. Chavez (Marin County)
Wendy Coblentz (Marin County)
Tonia Coleman (Berkeley)
Liz Darby (Marin County)
Jackie Davis (Berkeley)
Barbara Dobkin (New York)
Governor (former) Michael Easley (North Carolina)
Gina DeDomenico and Miguel Espinoza (Los Angeles)
Laurie and Ian Fenwick (San Luis Obispo)
Kim Fullerton-Nelson, M.D. (Marin County)
Anthony Garrett (Washington, D.C.)
Marcia Goldman (Atherton)
Joan and Ken Gosliner (Marin County)
Leslie and Joel Greenberg (New York)
U.S. Senator Kamala D. Harris (San Francisco)
Betsy Hausman (San Francisco)
Adam Hirschfelder (Marin County)
Ellen Rosen Kaplan (Chicago)
Lelise Kautz (Los Angeles)
Abbey Levine (San Francisco)
Susan Lowenberg and Joyce Newstat (San Francisco)
Ann Mathieson (Marin County)
Iris Metz (Marin County)
Dan Newman (San Francisco)
Carolyn and Jay Paxton (San Francisco)
Lee Pollak (San Francisco)
Helene Roos (San Francisco)
Joe Salesky (Marin County)
Annie Sammis (Marin County)
Jeanie Schram (San Francisco)
Elizabeth Share (Marin County)
Timothy Silard (San Francisco)
H. Marcia Smolens (Marin County)
Marjorie Swig (Aspen, CO)
Lisa Towne (Portland, OR)
Jennifer Traeger-Hirsfelder (Marin County)
Dr. Michael Watenpaugh (Marin County)
Barbara and Scott Waxman (Marin County)
Jack Weiss (Los Angeles)
Assemblymember Buffy Wicks (Oakland)
Amy Wilner, Psy.D. (Marin County)
Howard Zack (Marin County)

Portland Advisory Board Members

Kelly McCollum
Ashley Larkin
Christy Strange
Sarah Nelson
Susan O'Kelly
Carla Yudhishthu
Danielle Sherman
Amy Donohue
Kim Aziz
Crystal Ball

Board Members | National Advisory Board Members | Portland Advisory Board Members | Staff & Consultants
Financial Friends | Partner Schools

National Programs

Know Your Classmates

Our innovative national programs have inspired a cultural and behavioral shift at middle schools and high schools across the country. Join our movement to end social isolation by bringing one or all of these programs to your school.

Know Your Classmates is designed to explore middle school youth's identity and belonging, understand traditions, and recognize stereotypes. Multi-cultural and multi-faith backgrounds are common in today's schools and Know Your Classmates is speaking honestly with children about their feelings and experiences with one another. Know Your Classmates Day is Friday, October 23, 2020!

No One Eats Alone

No One Eats Alone™ teaches everyone how to make friends at lunch, often the most difficult part of the school day. Created and organized by students, this is our most popular program where schools in all 50 United States participate! National No One Eats Alone Day is Friday, February 12, 2021.

Be Kind Online

Be Kind Online is a powerful engagement program for middle school youth, their teachers and families. Focused on creating inclusive communities online, particularly learning to respond to digital gossip to reduce social isolation, Be Kind Online Day is May 14, 2021.

All of our programs encourage taking the pledge to never exclude others, reaching out to someone new, and spreading the word that inclusion is cool!